• Dave Schwartz
    ok3nc1obp1k9zke7.png
    Which door represents your code? Which door represents your team or your company?
    Why are we in that room?
    ... The answer is: craftsmanship.
    — Uncle Bob Martin
    (From the book, Clean Code, by Uncle Bob Martin.)

Uncle Bob has provided a tremendous improvement in my coding life.

Truth be told, I am not a very good programmer.
    On a scale of 1 to 10, where "1" is a guy who's just written his first, "Hello World," and "10" is Bill Gates (when he was younger), I put myself at "4.5."

Sure, I do some cool stuff, and, as a designer, I'm about a "12," but my skill set is very vertical. That is, I only learn what I absolutely have to learn. Probably we have this in common.

Until the last year or so, I was completely self-taught. It was then that I had a couple of problems to solve that I just didn't know how to do and I decided that I could spend (say) 40 hours figuring out the HOW or I could pay someone to show me.

Simple business decision. 40 hours of my time vs. 1 hour of someone else's time for about $80. Since I value my time at far more than $2 per hour, it was a clown question.

"Yes, but I don't do this for a living."
    No, you probably don't.
    Any more than you are a professional horse player, but you still take your handicapping seriously, right?
    DEADLY SERIOUS, I'd guess.

Since the effectiveness of your software is a key element in your handicapping success, the ability to write good code - AND TO DO IT QUICKLY - could positively impact your end result.

Final Thoughts
    One of the coders I have great respect for told me that he watched a video a few years back where a company did screen videos of all its programmers. Then they studied them.

What they found was that most programmers spent a whopping 95% of their time looking for old code!

NINETY-FIVE... PERCENT... of their time.

When I heard that, I said, "Oh, that's crazy. Certainly not me."