• RanchWest
    Dave has provided a great resource here.

But, I'll start my story with Dave. I am from the Deep South. Nearly everyone I grew up with had either a Cajun accent or a Southern drawl. Listening to Dave was initially a struggle. And that self-confidence! I really didn't give Dave much of a chance for a long time.

Then I started getting active as a member of this forum and eventually got to actually know Dave and he grew on me.

I have studied the horses a lot. I wrote my first pace program in 1983. The program I am now using I have been writing for about 25 years. While not a lot of people know more about horse data than I do, Dave does! And, I can tell you that understanding the data is not what it takes to be profitable, but Dave has helped me there.

The first big thing from this membership was Tom's Ultimate Odds Line, programmed in Windows by Steven. I've since backed into a similar program and added a jockey MRCT factor. But, I think anyone should be able to work with UOL just fine. HSH will probably do the same, though I have not used it. It's going to get you onto the winner in the top 3 in a huge number of races. Many of the oddball winners will come from quirky pace setups.

The next thing that helped me a lot was Dave saying to accept that short prices abound and that's the combined wisdom of a lot of smart people. I still don't much care for prices that get really low, but that doesn't mean that another horse is going to win... it is okay to sometimes pass. And, the accompanying short fields are also to be welcomed... fewer horses to handicap.

Another big help was Dave's strength par. When used in combination with UOL, it is powerful. Dave tells about this in the Finding Vulnerable Favorites product.